Photo Break: White ibis

Harvey Birdblog, Attorney at Lawwwww…! (Yes, I’m referencing “Adult Swim” on Cartoon Network, what of it?)  Story behind the photo below the break.

White ibis

White ibis

I came upon this white ibis on Sanibel’s Gulf beach, which was unusual in the first place, at least in my experience.  I usually see ibises inland, not on the shore.  The other unusual part of this photo op was how close I was able to get.  Ibises are awfully skittish…they freak out easily.

I took this picture without the benefit of either (1) cover, as I was on open sand and in his full view, and (2) a strong zoom lens, as this was before my DSLR days, so I had to edge pretty close to this bird without spooking him.  He must have been having a ball in the surf, because if my being this close didn’t faze him I wonder if anything short of a tsunami would have moved him from that spot.

Leave a Reply

