Photo Break: Snowy plover

Look, up in the sky!  It’s a bird!  it’s a plane!  It’s…wait, no, it’s a bird.  And it’s on the ground.  Looks like I’m birdblogging.  Story behind the photo below the break.

Snowy plover

Snowy plover

I was informed when I took this photo that these birds had been nesting on this part of the Sanibel beach for years and they could be found here all the time.  Since I’d been visiting this beach since I was about eight, I thanked my informer for making me feel like a big dipstick for never having seen one until now.

Seriously, as you might be able to tell from the photo, these little guys are easy to miss.  They’re tiny, and they blend into the sand as if they were buried there.  However, this particular one was kind enough not to freak out when I intruded on his nesting area.  Wouldn’t stand still for long (I got a lot of really crappy shots of him), but I did get at least one keeper.

Leave a Reply

