Oh, you mean THAT header…?

Hmmmm…that’s true, I did say I’d be talking about wildlife photography, didn’t I?  Well, allrightythen, here goes…

The first example is the detail from my current banner art.  Pictured in the header are two roseate spoonbills I caught chatting on a sandbar during feeding hours at the J.N. “Ding” Darling National Wildlife Refuge.

The Ding is a sanctuary in Sanibel Island, FL, that I’ve been visiting nearly every spring for about the past 30 years.  Only in the last five or six of them have I been able to bring a digital camera with me instead of film, and only in the last two have I been able to bring equipment that routinely allows me shots like these.

The gadget-freek in me has been in hog heaven.  I use a Canon EOS 20D DSLR, in this case with a Sigma 80-400mm ultrazoom lens (affectionately known to its users as the “BIGma”).  It’s about as big as a lens can get without needing a tripod to keep a guy’s spine from collapsing.

Will be posting more shots periodically.

Leave a Reply

